Tag: Worcester Trophy Road Race

Worcester Trophy Road Race 2017

Elite and first category riders rolled away from Kempsey Community Youth Centre at the  start of the iconic Worcester Trophy race.

71 cyclists tackled 7 ¼ laps of a tough 11.5 mile circuit around Severn Stoke and all were aiming to win the prestigious trophy road race, a long running event organised by Worcester St Joh’s.

It has a distinguished list of previous winners, including Tour de France champion  Sir Bradley Wiggins.

The racing was fast and furious with riders continually trying to break free from the fast moving bunch.

Finally, after half the distance, a group of 11 riders managed to establish a good sized gap on the bunch and would stay away to contest the finish.

With a tough uphill finish up Severn Stoke bank and then turning towards Kinnersley it came down to a tight sprint finish between three riders.

Taking the win by a single bike length was Matthew Garthwaite (Rhino Velo) from Matthew Clarke (Halesowen CC) and Rhys Williams (South Wales Road Development Programme)

With an average finish of nearly 27 mph for the rolling 83 mile race, all the riders who finished commented it had been a hard fast event.