Tag: Open Time Trial

Shelsley Walsh cycling hill climb 2017

The last Open event of this season; the Hill Climb and Cyclo-cross at Shelsley Walsh.

These events take place on the same day, Sunday 1st October, the Cyclo-cross starting at 10.00 the hill climb at 11.00.

Help is needed for both events on Saturday to prepare the courses and on Sunday for the racing and clearing up. Please contact Rick Allen, Dave Jennings or any committee member to offer you help.

These are great spectator days and we have all the usual facilities open, Stratstone restaurant etc. There is a small parking charge but the events are free to watch. Your members can enter the races online by going to the respective websites.

We look forward to seeing you.

Full event details can be found on the Shelsley Walsh Open Hill Climb event page.


Worcester St Johns Open 10 Mile Time Trial Report

IN very gusty conditions which saw one rider blown over on the start line, 120 riders took part in the annual Worcester St John’s CC open 10-mile time trial and Charlie Grieg Memorial Trophy on Saturday.

The time trial – which was also a Midlands Women’s Series counting event –  took place on the popular horse-shoe shaped Stoke Priors course near Alcester, so although there was a strong headwind for the first four miles, the riders enjoyed a tailwind for the final six miles, with a quick section along the A46.


This led to some fast times – the winner, Scott Walker of Team Bottrill/HSS Hire, completed the course in a blistering 19 minutes 54 seconds. First Worcester St John’s rider was Simon Garrett, whose 20 minutes 24 seconds was his fastest ever 10-mile time. The next Saints riders home were Paul Guest (21.12) and Mark Daffin (21.23). The first woman home was Fiona Prew (Pro Vision Cycle Clothing) in 23.02, and the first junior was Worcester St Johns rider Ollie Morgan, with an excellent time of 21 minutes 34 seconds. The rider that raised the most smiles was Martin Staines of Worcester St Johns, who completed the course on a tandem, with eight-year-old Jake enjoying every minute on the back.

The event was organised by club stalwart Dave Walker, who said the event was a huge success with a new trophy especially made for the winner of the ladies event,.

“I would like to thank the army of volunteers  who turned out on the day to make this popular event such a success, from the all important marshalls to the ladies who provided well earned refreshments. Riders came from a wide area to take part and  we are confident it will be just as successful next year. We were oversubscribed and were very sorry to have to turn some riders away.”


1st Scott Walker, 19.54

2nd Jon Simpkins, 20.03

3rd David Kiernan, 20.07

4th Tim Ashton, 20.12


1st Woman Fiona Prew, 23.02

2nd Woman Susan Semple, 23.23

3rd Woman Fay Barrington, 23.34

4th Woman Suzy Patience, 23.35


1st Junior (Male) Ollie Morgan, 21.34

1st Junior (Female) Beth Hinett, 25.20


1st MV40 Jon Howard, 20.22

1st MV50 Jeremy Stone, 21.02

1st MV60 Phil Brown, 22.22

1st MV70 Terry Icke 22.16


1st FV40 Debbie Bradley, 24.42

1st FV50 Jan Birkmyre, 23.44

1st FV60 Arja Scarsbrook, 25.48


1st Ladies’ Team: Wyre Forest CRC

1st Men’s Team: Success Cycling


1st Road Bike Adrien O’Brien, 24.50

2nd Road Bike Susan O’Shaughnessy, 24.56

3rd Road Bike Fern Hordern, 26.53


1st Tandem Robert Gardner and Tanis (?) Hand, 25.58

Open 25 Mile Time Trial Report

Sunshine and a little cloud ushered in the arrival of the popular Worcester St John’s Cycling Club first Open Time Trial of the year.

Seventy one riders tackled the tough, undulating 25 mile Cookhill/Spetchley course starting from lnkberrow Village Hall and did not let the gentle wind distract them.

Riders came from across the area with 16 saints from the host club taking part.

Among the impressive wins on the day were Philip Whiteley who took home first prize on the fastest road bike with Simon Garrett third overall continuing last year’s top form. Nic Bradburn was fastest on the fixed gear bike and Worcester St John’s won the team prize thanks to sterling performances by Martin Lines, Simon Garrett and Steve Clark who pipped fellow saint Paul Guest by just two seconds.

Club member Stuart Parker could not have tried harder on what was his debut Open Time Trial for his club.

Meanwhile the club had plenty of success at the Echelon Road Race at Welland.

Adrian Bird, Mark Corbett, Richard Rollason and Mark Thomas all competed with Mark Corbett achieving 14th place and Mark Thomas just behind at 15.