Category: Road Race

WSJCC Riders Excel in Prestigious Events

Riders from Worcester St John’s excelled in a series of prestigious cycling events at the weekend.

Simon Garrett set the scene by featuring in the top ten of the Stratford CC 10 on the K33/10 in just 20:48. Carl Dee, wearing the Worcester St John’s jersey, won the prestigious Echelon road race at Welland, with honorary member Marcus Walker winning his category. Seven Saints did especially well in the Little Mountain time trial at Shelsley Walsh.

Star of the day at the Stratford 10 went to Martin Stanley with a new personal best by 90 seconds coming in at 23:38. Simon Adcook came in on 22:05 which was 6 seconds short of a personal best and scraped into the top 20. Paul Guest, returning after a heavy bout of flu, achieved 22:35 despite his power being down by around 25w since his last race three weeks ago. Nic Bradburn, who was riding with gears this year, ended the contest with 24:01.

Second claim member Ollie Morgan, now riding for Team Echelon, smashed out a pb of 21:28

Fans were spoilt for choice on Sunday having to decide between the stunning backdrop of the hills for the Little Mountain time trial or the exhileration of the flat at Welland for the Echelon road race..

The Echelon road race consisted of three laps of the Welland circuit – a total of 49 miles.

WSJCC Riders at Welland Road Race 2018Jason Meyer won the AB race, but Worcester St John’s Ade Bird was 4th A category and Steve Lewis was 6th B category.

Fans were thrilled to see Carl Dee’s victory in the C/D race in a bunch sprint finish. Richard Graham was 7th Rob Nicholls 9th and Richard Rollason 10th.

Marcus Walker, honorary St John’s, broke away on lap two of the EFG race. He was joined by a second rider who he beat in the final sprint.


Seven St John’s cyclists took part in the Little Mountain time trial organised by Beacon Road Cycling Club.

Mark Corbett posted the best Worcester St John’s time with 1:40:04 and came 4th in the vets. Ed Dursley put in a time of 1:53:59, Dylan Perkins put in an excellent performance for a 16 year old.

New member Richard Allcock did a credible 1:54:41 on a road bike, Adrian Murray improved on last year’s time with 1:56:18 Justin Barnett did 2:07:59 and Dave Walker struggled up the hills to post 2:04:32.

WSJCC Mark Corbett - Little Mountain Time Trial 2018
WSJCC Mark Corbett – Little Mountain Time Trial 2018


WSJCC Ed Dursley - Little Mountain Time Trial 2018
WSJCC Ed Dursley – Little Mountain Time Trial 2018


WSJCC Justin Barnett - Little Mountain Time Trial 2018
WSJCC Justin Barnett – Little Mountain Time Trial 2018


WSJCC Dave Walker - Little Mountain Time Trial 2018
WSJCC Dave Walker – Little Mountain Time Trial 2018

Ludlow Road Race Report

Worcester St Johns riders Phil Whiteley and Adrian Bird took part in the inaugural Ludlow Brewing Company and Pearce Cycles road race at Aston on Clun in Shropshire on Sunday.

The race was held in heavy rain over 70 gruelling hilly miles (8 laps of an 8.7-mile course) which a little over half the field completed, including Bird. In a well-judged two-man break Whiteley took the prime (sprint) lap half way through the race, holding off the rest of the bunch as they surged up the hill to the finish line.

The overall race winner was Stuart Glover of Shropshire team Rhino Velo, from a three-man break that stayed away from lap 5.

Worcester Trophy Road Race 2017

Elite and first category riders rolled away from Kempsey Community Youth Centre at the  start of the iconic Worcester Trophy race.

71 cyclists tackled 7 ¼ laps of a tough 11.5 mile circuit around Severn Stoke and all were aiming to win the prestigious trophy road race, a long running event organised by Worcester St Joh’s.

It has a distinguished list of previous winners, including Tour de France champion  Sir Bradley Wiggins.

The racing was fast and furious with riders continually trying to break free from the fast moving bunch.

Finally, after half the distance, a group of 11 riders managed to establish a good sized gap on the bunch and would stay away to contest the finish.

With a tough uphill finish up Severn Stoke bank and then turning towards Kinnersley it came down to a tight sprint finish between three riders.

Taking the win by a single bike length was Matthew Garthwaite (Rhino Velo) from Matthew Clarke (Halesowen CC) and Rhys Williams (South Wales Road Development Programme)

With an average finish of nearly 27 mph for the rolling 83 mile race, all the riders who finished commented it had been a hard fast event.